Kitchen

Pesto

My garden was full of my favourite herb basil, the smell of this herb is summer in itself to me! Now unfortunately summer is coming to an end here in the southern hemisphere and my basil was going to seed so I got busy this weekend making pesto.

Pesto Recipe

2 cups fresh basil leaves, packed

1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan

1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil

1/3 cup pine nuts or walnuts

3 medium-sized garlic cloves, minced

Salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

Squeeze of lemon juice

Throw everything except the oil into a blender and blitz.

 Add oil and blitz again until almost smooth I prefer to have some texture to my pesto.

Here is a video of my other favourite basil, Basil Fawlty from Fawlty Towers

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fiCRoOsy_vA

Leave a Reply

