Craft

D.I.Y Lip Balm

This is the first time I have  made lip balm and I was surprised how easy it was! My motivation was a block of beeswax I bought from a local farmers market over a year ago, and yes I bought it without knowing what I was going to do with it , but I was so impressed with the women selling it who was keeping hives here in our inner-city suburb that I took some beeswax home with me!

I am so pleased with the results of my first foray into natural beauty products I can’t help but share my results.

On the stove I warmed up half a cup of olive oil and then added 2 tablespoons of grated beeswax I then stirred in 1 teaspoon of New Zealand Manuka Honey. When the beeswax was all melted I poured the balm into an empty jar.

So easy with just 3 ingredients I created an all natural lip balm! Next time I would like to make natural scrubs and creams maybe using the herbs and flowers in our garden!

3 thoughts on “D.I.Y Lip Balm

  1. I’ll be trying this as soon as I find some beeswax!

    A great natural scrub: Salt, Sugar, honey, Vitamin E oil and a few drops of liquid Castille soap with lavender – sometimes I put in little ground-up dried lavender blooms. Put it in a shallow jar as the crystals will sink to the bottom and you will have to stir it to redistribute as you scoop out a portion. Rub gently over skin and rinse with warm water. Fabulous.

Leave a Reply

