House

Pick A Colour…..Any Colour!

I find it very daunting when it comes to picking paint colours for my home. Colour experts say to stick with what you feel comfortable with and to look to your own wardrobe for inspiration, If I did this I would have black walls in every room! There are the beige and earthy tones and I think you can’t go wrong with a clean crisp white but I did want to be a bit more adventurous with my home even if I’m not with my wardrobe!

Thankfully paint companies are keeping up with the times and you can easily view every colour option available to you online, if you google a major paint brand you will almost always find a site with everything you need.

 Magazines and D.I.Y/decorating shows are a great resource and in fact our lounge room colour was inspired by the Australian show The Block (New Zealand version  of The Block is in production now!) I still used the good old test pots before committing because a colour can appear different depending how much light is in a room.

 Anyway here is the colour I decided on for the lounge/ dinning room.

Wattyl 3/4 Snowdonia

I wanted a modern neutral and this grey will make the white skirting and windows pop, I think with its hint of blue it feels like a Scandinavian grey which gives it a modern edge but it also looks like a traditional grey going with all the traditional wood work we have like the fireplace surround and the floors.

Here are a few links to click on if you are needing some colour inspiration.

Wattyl Colour Designer

Dulux Colour Gallery

Resene Colour Swatch library

Leave a Reply

