Kitchen

Cracking cheese, Gromit!

I have been making cheese this week! I have never made cheese before but I was given some whole milk from a farming friend and I thought I would give it a go!

This recipe for ricotta from the Good Morning show was the easiest I could find for my first attempt at cheese making.

 Ricotta Cheese

Ingredients
2 Litres full cream milk
2 tablespoons Renco

First heat milk until just over luke warm.
Take off the heat stir in the Renco.
Allow it to sit for 1 hour to set.
Once set run a wooden spoon over the cheese to break it up pour over half a jug of boiling water, allow to sit for further 10 minutes.
Place in cheese cloth and drain all excess liquid.
Place in fridge in cloth for an hour.
For a firmer Ricotta place in a mould.

This cheese is super creamy and it worked!

Leave a Reply

