Craft

Naked Light Shade!

You may have noticed the shade we have hanging in our new Master bedroom here…….

kiwihome

and here…….

kiwihome

I have a stack of old light shades amongst my mothers old craft things, in fact I remember her decorating them with various cane and fringes which would’ve  been the ‘bomb’ in the 80s I’m sure!

I always thought the frames were the prettiest part so I got the idea of using a few around the house.

I gave this frame a couple of coats of water based black enamel paint, I purchased a new cord, ceiling rose and this very cool vintage Edison bulb.

kiwihome

kiwihome

I also have this shade which is for a lamp stand that I think would look great in my daughter’s room stripped back to the frame then painted in a bright colour.

kiwihome

If you are following kiwihome on Facebook ( If you are not and would like to, just click Follow kiwihome on Facebook  on the right side of this page) you probably have figured out we will be doing Chelsea’s room! (Chelsea’s our nine-year old daughter).

This room is going to be so much fun to do but for the moment I must settle for plotting and planning only because we won’t be starting her room untill after the holidays.

3 thoughts on “Naked Light Shade!

  1. Hi
    I found your blog via the Trade Me forums and have loved reading it so far.

    I also like the wire frame look that you have in your bedroom, but could you tell me where you bought the Edison bulb from please? I’ve only found them online from the US so far, and thought they probably wouldn’t make the journey to Hawkes Bay intact.

    Thanks again for such an interesting read.

    Kind regards Deborah

Leave a Reply

